top of page

October's Author of the Month


Enid Blyton

October's Author of the Month is the legendary best-selling author Enid Blyton. She is one of the most successful children’s writers ever, writing 700 books that have been translated into more than 40 languages and sold in excess of 400 million copies worldwide.

The world-famous Blyton signature is synonymous for fun and action-packed stories, appealing to boys and girls from pre-school to early teens. She created a group of internationally renowned series which include mystery and adventure stories such as The Famous Five, The Secret Seven, The Adventure Series and The Mystery Series, school stories such as Malory Towers, St Clare’s and The Naughtiest Girl, fantasy tales such as The Faraway Tree, The Enchanted Wood and The Wishing Chair, and of course the much-loved Noddy stories for younger children.

Many of these series have been developed into successful film and TV programmes — both animated and live action – with key broadcast partners around the world. There have also been numerous audiotapes based on her works, including a recent version of The Enchanted Wood read by Kate Winslet.













Come and visit the school library to find out which of Enid Blyton's bestsellers we have in stock.



November's Author of the Month


SF Said is a British children's author. He was born in Beirut, Lebanon in 1967 but has lived in London since the age of 2.  SF said says he inspired by authors such as Roald Dahl and Rudyard Kipling. 


His first novel was Varjak Paw and was published in January 2003. It tells the story of a kung-fu cat called Varjak who leaves his sheltered upbringing to explore the city and learn the "Seven Skills of the Way", taught to him in dreams by his ancestor Jalal. In his dreams, Varjak finds himself transported from his gritty urban surroundings to deserts, rivers and mountains. With the Skills, he is able to fight the Gentleman and, in  the sequel book The Outlaw Varjak Paw (2005), the domineering "white cat with one eye", Sally Bones, who is invading the territories of other cats and ruling them with torture and terror. 


Varjak Paw won the 2003 Nestlé Smarties Book Prize, reader ages 6–8 years, and The Outlaw Varjak Paw won the 2007 Blue Peter Book of the Year

Both Varjak Paw and Phoenix are part of our 100 books to read before you leave challenge and can be found in the library. 

bottom of page